Mile Sur Mera Tumhara
"Ek sur" (One Tune) (languages of India), or "Mile Sur Mera Tumhara" as it is better known, is an Indian song and accompanying video promoting national integration and unity in diversity. The national integration video was intended to instill a sense of pride and promote unity amongst Indians, highlighting the different linguistic communities and societies that live in India. Mile Sur was telecast for the first time on Independence Day 1988, after the telecast of the Prime Minister’s speech from the ramparts of the Red Fort.

It quickly captivated India, gaining and maintaining near-anthem status ever since.

Phir Mile Sur Mera Tumhara
Twenty two years after the original debut, the song was re-recorded with an updated cast for telecast on January 26, 2010 by Zoom TV. This version titled Phir Mile Sur Mera Tumhara features Indian musicians, singers, sportspersons and film personalities from the current generation. The current version (16 min 17 sec) runs longer than the older version (6 min 9 sec) The new version also retains music composer/arranger Louis Banks who had co-composed/arranged the original Mile Sur Mera Tumhara as well.

The languages of India belong to several language families, the major ones being the Indo-European languages—Indo-Aryan (spoken by 72% of Indians) and the Dravidian languages (spoken by 25% of Indians). Other languages spoken in India belong to the Austro-Asiatic, Tibeto-Burman, and a few minor language families. The principal official language of the Republic of India is Standard Hindi, while English is the secondary official language.The constitution of India states that "The official language of the Union shall be Hindi in Devnagari script. According to Census of India of 2001, 30 languages are spoken by more than a million native speakers, 122 by more than 10,000. Two contact languages have played an important role in the history of India: Persian and English. Regional languages spoken in India :
Angika • Assamese • Bengali •Bodo • Chhattisgarhi • Dora •Garo • Gujarati • Standard Hindi • Kannada • Kashmiri • Khasi• Kokborok• Konkani • Maithili • Malayalam • Manipuri • Marathi •Mizo • Nepali • Oriya • Punjabi • Sanskrit • Santali • Sindhi • Tamil • Telugu • Tulu • Urdu •











Creative Commons License
Unity In Diversity by Team GVC11-09 is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License